Maryland Arts Directory Triennial Exhibition

Baltimore, MD — In celebration of the talented and diverse array of artists across the state, the Maryland State Arts Council (MSAC) and Maryland Art Place (MAP) are pleased to present the third Maryland Arts Directory exhibition this month. Held Thursday, May 18 at 6pm, the triennial event will focus on visual artworks, literary works, and performers in the ever growing Maryland Arts Directory, and will be held in tandem with the Bromo Arts & Entertainment District Spring Art Walk.

Maintained by MAP for more than 25 years, the Maryland Arts Directory originated as a regional resource conceived by MSAC. Curators, collectors, and patrons could physically visit MAP to review new visual artworks using slides. As time went by, slides became outdated and an official online resource was created to make access to artworks much more accessible.

The Directory is a free online platform that showcases the high-caliber, diverse, and relevant work of Maryland’s artists and arts organizations and promotes the vitality of Maryland’s arts communities. Collectively, MSAC and MAP aim to present a comprehensive survey of Maryland artists for the Triennial exhibition. 

"We are excited to collaborate with MAP and work with these jurors to showcase the breadth and depth of the work of Maryland's artists," said MSAC Executive Director Steven Skerritt-Davis. "The Directory as an online resource is invaluable, and having the chance to experience participating artists' work in person is sure to be inspiring" 

This year’s roster of talented jurors includes: Jayme McLellan (visual art) - Founder and Director of Civilian Art Projects; José Ruiz (visual art) – Director and Faculty, Curatorial Practices Program at the Maryland Institute College of Art; Rahne Alexander (performance) – intermedia artist, writer and editor; and Gerry LaFemina (literary) – acclaimed poet, writer, professor and critic.

Participating Artists: 

Esperanza Alzona, Jeanne Anderton, Mollye Bendell, Karin Birch, Eric Briscoe, Bryane Broadie, Megan Burak, Japhet Chukwuma, Kitty Clark & Ray C Shaw (Performing), Jacqui Crocetta, Julianna Dail, Michel Demanche, Liz Downing (Performing), Andrea Downs, Brian Dunn, Bria Edwards, Ashley Elizabeth Evans (Literary), Anna Fine Foer, Dan Talib Latif Flounders, Kristin Fuller, Marilyn Gates-Davis, Catrice Greer (Literary), Terence Hannum, Heather Harvey, Elizabeth Hill (Performing), Lillian Bayley Hoover, Susan Hostetler, Nora Howell, Chung-Wei Huang, Corey Hughes, Sherry Insley, Chloe Irla, Kei Ito, Lillian Jacobson, Meredith Johnson (Literary), Sylvia Jones (Literary), Suzy Kopf, Nate Larson, Tzippora Lasdun, Magnolia Laurie, Lauren R. Lyde, Caidy Lynn, Julie Maynard, Jennifer McBrien, Jonna Elinor McKone, Rie Moore (Performing), Rashad Muhammad, Andrew Nelson, Kate Norris, Bart O'Reilly, Aaron Oldenburg, Janet Olney, Shana Oshiro (Performing), Betsy Packard, Scott Pennington, Linda Plaisted, Barry Louis Polisar (Literary), Ann Quinn (Literary), Stephanie Ray (Performing), Margaret Rorison, Saz Ross, Anysa Saleh, Gretchen Schermerhorn, Jennifer N. Shannon (Literary), Laura Shovan (Literary), Becky Snider, Jessica Snow, Virginia Sperry, Ramón Tasat (Performing), Sue Ellen Thompson (Literary), Andrew Thorp, René Treviño, Elijah Trice, Erhan Us, Dmitrii Volkov, Jenny Walton, Steve Wanna, Yam Chew Oh, Tara Youngborg


Past jurors included: Gamynne Guillotte (2016-Visual Arts) - Chief Education Officer at The Baltimore Museum of Art; Dr. J. Susan Isaacs (2019, Visual Art Juror) - Professor, Art History, Curator of the Dept of Art + Design, Art History, Art Education Galleries at Towson University; Jeremy Stern (2019, Visual Art Juror) - Former Exhibitions and Program Manager at the Creative Alliance, Baltimore; Laure Drogoul (2019, Performance Art Juror) - Interdisciplinary artist, Founder 14 Karat Cabaret, Co-organizer Transmodern Festival, Professor-Maryland Institute College of Art; Ada Pinkston (2019, Performance Art Juror) - Mixed Media Artist, Community Artist, Conceptual Artist, Arts Education Lecturer, Towson; and Hoesy Corona (2019, Performance Art Juror) - Independent Curator & Multi-disciplinary artist.

The exhibition will take place on three floors of the MAP building located at 218 West Saratoga Street between Park and Howard’s streets in downtown Baltimore City. Parking will be available at the Arrow garage across the street from MAP and street parking will be free after 6pm. This is a free event.

About Maryland State Arts Council

Founded in 1967, MSAC is an agency of the State of Maryland's Department of Commerce that plays an essential role, ensuring every person has access to the transformative power of the arts. MSAC advances the arts in our state by providing leadership that champions creative expression, diverse programming, equitable access, lifelong learning, and the arts as a celebrated contributor to the quality of life for all the people of Maryland. To do this, the agency awards grants to not-for-profit, tax-exempt organizations for ongoing arts programming and projects, awards grants to individual artists, and provides technical and advisory assistance to individuals and groups. MSAC receives its funds in an annual appropriation from the State of Maryland and from grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. The Council may also receive contributions from private, non-governmental sources. For more information, go to

About Maryland Art Place
MAP inspires, supports, and encourages artistic expression through innovative programming, exhibitions, and educational opportunities while recognizing the powerful impact art can have on our community. MAP creates a dynamic environment for artists of our time to engage the public by nurturing and promoting new ideas. MAP has served as a critical resource for contemporary art in the Mid-Atlantic since 1981.