You are here


New MSAC Officers and Councilors Begin Terms on July 1, 2010

New MSAC Officers and Councilors Begin Terms on July 1, 2010


A new slate of Maryland State Art Council officers, elected at the Council's annual meeting on June 4, assumes leadership this month. William Mandicott was elected Chair of MSAC, Abigail Hoffman remains Vice Chair, and David Terry becomes the Secretary-Treasurer.  Two new members, Margaret Footner and Lora Bottinelli, join the Council.

July 02, 2010News

William Mandicott, formerly secretary-treasurer, is now chair of the Arts Council. Mandicott is assistant vice president for student and community involvement at Frostburg State University in Allegany County. He is also chair of Frostburg's Cultural Event Series. The Allegany County resident was appointed to the Arts Council by Gov. Martin O'Malley in July 2007.

Abigail Hoffman, remains vice chair of the Arts Council. Hoffman, an attorney, is a principal of R&R Professional Recovery Inc., based in Baltimore County where she also resides. David Terry is now secretary/treasurer. Terry is executive director of the Reginald F. Lewis Museum of African American History and Culture, located near Baltimore's Inner Harbor. He is a resident of Prince George's County.

Two new councilors also join the Arts Council in July: Margaret Footner and Lora Bottinelli. Footner is executive director and one of the founders of the Creative Alliance, a multi-discipline arts center located in southeast Baltimore. The center is an anchor of the Highlandtown Arts and Entertainment District. Bottinelli is executive director of Salisbury University's Ward Museum of Wildfowl Art. Previously, she was deputy director, curator and folklorist at the museum. She is editor of Wildfowl Art Journal and a member of the Middle Atlantic Folklife Association's board of directors.