You are here


Arts Council Honors Individual Artist Award Recipients

Arts Council Honors Individual Artist Award Recipients


Arts Council Honors Individual Artist Award Recipients

June 03, 2014Arts Across Maryland

Maryland artists that received a Maryland State Arts Council 2014 Individual Artist Award (IAA) were honored at a May 21 celebration and reception at the American Visionary Art Museum (AVAM). An audience of hundreds that evening included recipient artists and their supporters.

The 2014 IAA honored artists working within the fields of Choreography, Classical Music Composition, Classical Music Solo Performance, Poetry, Sculpture, Solo Dance Performance, World Music Composition and World Music Solo Performance. In total, 89 artists were selected to receive grants ranging from $1,000 to $3,000 to advance their artistic careers. Collectively, $249,000 was awarded.

The ceremony was attended by AVAM Founder and Director Rebecca Hoffberger, MSAC Chair Barbara Bershon, MSAC Vice-Chair Carol Trawick, Hannah Byron, assistant secretary for Tourism, Film and the Arts, Baltimore Museum of Arts Executive Director Doreen Bolger, Maryland Citizens for the Arts Executive Director John Schratwieser and others from the Maryland arts community.

The evening's entertainment featured the performance of an original composition by Amadou Kouyate, Cathy Fink and Marcy Marxer--all past recipients of the Individual Artist Award for musical composition. And Akash Menon, a junior at Urbana High School who recently placed first at the Maryland Poetry Out Loud final competition, recited his winning collection of poems, including “Fishing on the Susquehanna in July,” by former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins.

The 2015 Individual Artist Award is open for applications in the artistic categories of Crafts, Non-Classical Music Composition, Non-Classical Music Solo Performance, Photography and Playwriting with a deadline of July 24, 2014.

View photos from the 2014 Individual Artist Award Celebration and Receiption