You are here


Maryland State Arts Councilors

Maryland State Arts Councilors

The Maryland State Arts Council comprises an appointed body of 17 citizens from across the state, 13 of whom are named by the Governor to three-year terms that may be renewed once. Two private citizens and two legislators are appointed by the President of the Senate and by the Speaker of the House. Maryland's nonprofit arts organizations benefit from the expertise of this diverse group of leaders that drive the strategic direction of MSAC programs and funding.

Shelley Morhaim

ChairBaltimore County

Shelley Morhaim was appointed to the Maryland State Arts Council in July 2013.  She is a writer and filmmaker. Among her credits are the award-winning documentary The Next Industrial Revolution and the Arts Education in Maryland Schools (AEMS) film Hard Fun: Transforming American Education Through the Arts. Morhaim has served on the boards of the... Read More

John (Jack) Rasmussen

Vice ChairMontgomery County

John (Jack) Rasmussen was Founding Director and Curator of the American University Museum at the Katzen Arts Center. In Virginia, he was curator of King Abdulluh Cultural Hall museum interpreting the History and Culture of Saudi Arabia. There he worked with a design firm and the Saudi Arabian Cultural Ministry on nine-month project. At the di Rosa Preserve: Art &... Read More

Joan M.G. Lyon

Secretary/TreasurerGarrett County

Joan Lyon is an active supporter of the arts; she is a member of the Garrett County Arts Council and is currently serving her second term as President of its Board of Directors. Lyon also volunteers as a ceramics assistant/mentor in the Art Department at Garrett College.

Barbara Bershon

St. Mary's County

Barbara Bershon was elected Chair of the Maryland State Arts Council in June of 2012, having served on the Council since 2008. Bershon brings leadership to the Council through extensive arts administration experience, having previously served as president of the St. Mary's County Arts Council and founding executive director of the Chesapeake Orchestra in Southern Maryland. For many years,... Read More

Gary Vikan

Baltimore City

Gary Vikan was named Director of the Walters Art Museum in 1994 after serving as the museum's Assistant Director for Curatorial Affairs and Curator of Medieval Art since 1985; he stepped down from that position in June of 2013. Before coming to the Walters, Dr. Vikan was Senior Associate for Byzantine Art Studies at Dumbarton Oaks in Washington, DC. A native of Minnesota, he received his B.A.... Read More

Carole Alexander

Anne Arundel County

Carole Alexander is a resident of Annapolis, Maryland and formerly of Prince George’s County. She has been active in arts advocacy for the last twenty years. She is an independent consultant specializing in creative special events, marketing, fundraising and community outreach. Carole attributes her professional successes to serving with creative people on numerous boards, including the... Read More

Senator Richard S. Madaleno, Jr.

Montgomery County

Richard Madaleno represents Maryland’s 18th Legislative District (which includes Kensington, Wheaton, and Chevy Chase, as well as parts of Silver Spring, Rockville, and Bethesda) in the Maryland State Senate. He is currently serving his second term in the State Senate (elected in 2006 and 2010), having first been elected in 2002 to serve a four year term in the House of Delegates. Senator... Read More

Carla Du Pree

Howard County

Carla Du Pree is the Executive Director of CityLit Baltimore.  Carla is a fiction writer, literary consultant, state arts ambassador, and speaker.

In 2012 she was appointed to the Maryland State Arts Council (MSAC) and serves as the Chair of the Diversity Outreach Committee.  She’s currently on the One Maryland One Book Selection Committee, and has served as a county and state judge for... Read More

Anthony Cornwell

Allegany County

Anthony Cornwell is owner of Cornwell Remodeling and Restoration He is an artist making mixed media sculptural faces from found items: pulleys, flashlights, and antique hardware and farm tools.

Delegate Alonzo Washington

Prince George's County

Delegate Alonzo T. Washington represents District 22 in Prince George’s County.  Del. Washington has been a member of the House since December 2012. He is the Deputy Majority Whip, serves on the Ways and Means Committee, Joint Committee on Children, Youth and Families, Joint Committee on Federal Relations, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds, and is a member of various committees... Read More

Aileen Carlucci

Anne Arundel County

Aileen Carlucci has served on local arts boards including Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts and as Cultural Arts Chair for Anne Arundel and Queen Anne’s County Schools. Other committees she has worked with are Bosom Buddies Charities for breast cancer, the Muscular Dystrophy Association of DC and Maryland and Camp Maria Retreat Center, a ministry of the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, in... Read More

Robinson S. Rowe

Montgomery County

Robinson S. Rowe is an active participant in the American Bar Association, the Maryland Association for Justice, the Maryland State Bar Association, the Montgomery County Bar Association and the Prince George's County Bar Association. Mr. Rowe has also contributed articles on various topics to various legal publications.

Anne Winter West

Baltimore County

Anne Winter West is an active supporter of the arts and is a member of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, CenterStage, and the Walters Art Museum.  Anne is a dedicated advocate for arts education, and has served as Trustee with the Enoch Pratt Free Library and Art with a Heart.  A former employee with the Maryland State Arts Council, Anne has also been employed by the Learning Bank, The Kennedy... Read More

Zoë Charlton

Baltimore City

Zoë Charlton received her MFA degree from the University of Texas at Austin. Her work has been included in national and international exhibitions including the Harvey B. Gantt Center (Charlotte, NC, 2015), Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art (Bentonville, AR, 2014), Studio Museum of Harlem (NYC, NY, 2012), Contemporary Art Museum (Houston, TX, 2000), the Zacheta National Gallery of Art (... Read More

Lily Bengfort

Queen Anne's County

Lily Bengfort is an award winning entrepreneur who has co-founded and built two successful firms, both of which were acquired by larger companies.  Lily attributes her entrepreneurial successes to innovative and creative partners in business and colleagues on numerous Boards.  Currently, Lily is President of UAS Safeflight Inc, a company developing communications technologies for Unmanned... Read More

BG Muhn

Montgomery County

Professor BG Muhn is a visual artist and teaches paintings in the Department of Art and Art History at Georgetown University.  He has also achieved substantial and noteworthy professional recognition through solo exhibitions in venues such as Stux Gallery in Chelsea in New York City, Ilmin Museum of Art in Seoul and the American University Museum in Washington, DC.  Through his professional... Read More